The Guide to Chakras: for beginners 

The word chakra pays reference to the energy centre of your body. In Sanskrit, the word means ‘disk’ or ‘wheel’. When all of our chakras (because there are 7 of them) are spinning it works with the different nerves and organs in our body. 

For these areas of our body to function at full capacity, all of our chakras need to be open, stay open and be in balance. If any chakra is blocked, you may experience discomfort both physically and emotionally. 

These seven chakras run along the spine of your body and start at the base of your spine and reach the crown of your head.

Don’t worry if you still are a little confused, these will all be covered below! 

The history of chakras 

The term chakra has become well known through its use in yoga and from any New Age philosophies. However, they are a complex and ancient energy system, which originated in India. 

Chakras were first mentioned in the Vedas as part of the spiritual knowledge of Hinduism. This dated back to 1500 to 1000 BC. 

The 7 chakras and what they mean

As part of the energy system, we explore the 7 main chakras that work within our body. Let’s explore what each chakra is and how they impact us. 

1. Root Chakra

Known as Muladhara is at the base of your spine and represents grounding and stability. It impacts your survival factors like money, food, shelter, safety, comfort, and belonging.

Location: At the base of your spine (tailbone area) 

Colour: Red

Affirmation: I’m safe / I’m centered & grounded

When the chakra is open you feel confident to take on challenges! 

2. Sacral Chakra

Known as Swadhisthana and is located in your lower abdomen. This represents your sense of abundance, wellbeing, pleasure, and sexuality. 

Location: Lower abdomen, near your belly button. 

Colour: Orange

Affirmation: I receive pleasure and abundance with every breath I take / I enjoy pleasure in all areas of my life

When the chakra is open you feel abundant, emotionally intelligent and creative! 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The Manupura is located in your stomach area and has control over your self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem. You know when you get those butterflies or the pit of your stomach feeling? 

Location: Upper abdomen in your stomach 

Colour: Yellow

Affirmation: I respect myself at all times /I deserve a wonderful life

When the chakra is open you have confidence, control of your life and feel free to express your true self. 

4. Heart Chakra

Of course, your heart (Anahata) is your love, joy, and inner peace! 

Location: At your heart - the centre of your chest

Colour: Green

Affirmation: I allow love to fill me up and guide me in all my actions / I’m grateful for all my blessings

When your chakra is open, your heart is open and ready for deep compassion and empathy. 

5. Throat Chakra

Known as Vishuddha and is in your throat. This chakra controls communication, truth and self-expression!

Location: In your throat

Colour: Light blue

Affirmation:  I express myself fully, creatively & respectfully / I speak & hear the truth 

When your chakra is open you can express yourself clearly and effectively. 

6. Third-Eye Chakra 

Or Ajna is located between your eyes and is a representation of your intuition, imagination and wisdom.  

Location: Forehead - in between your eyes 

Colour: Dark blue/purple 

Affirmation: I always honor and follow my intuition / I invite sacred transformation 

When your chakra is open your will experience visions and intuitive hits that help to guide you! 

7. Crown Chakra

The top of your head and works with your inner and outer beauty and is a sense of your spiritual connection! 

Location: Top of your head

Colour: White/violet 

Affirmation: I honor the divine within me / I’m infinite & boundless

When your chakra is open you are connected spiritually and are able to access your higher consciousness!